Guest Comments & reviews


Thank you for staying with us! 

 

We’ve enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit.  Tell us about your experience in the space below or on one of the following websites:

Finding us for the first time?

 

Here's what our guests are saying. You'll find a mixture of comments and reviews below and on the following websites:




Comments: 165
  • #165

    Liz & Michel, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 29 November 2020 21:20)

    This is a very beautiful haven from city life and the day-to-day challenges of living in a pandemic. We found you by chance on the Internet and are very glad we did! Your B&B is beautiful, the food is AMAZING, and you make such an effort to ensure all the small details are taken care of. Thank you for everything – we felt very well taken of! We will be back and recommending Harlem Stonegate to our friends.

  • #164

    Leche & Jake, Whitby, ON (Tuesday, 24 November 2020 22:44)

    November 23, 2020, Guestbook: "This special spot you have created and nurtured has quickly become a gem for us! We feel as though Harlem Stonegate B&B is a golden find that every Torontonian MUST experience at least once. Thank you for the thought and care you have put into every little detail! We notice and appreciate. AND to be honest we are already planning our next trip up. See you soon..."

  • #163

    Winnifred & Thomas, Montreal, QC (Tuesday, 24 November 2020 22:34)

    November 23, 2020, Guestbook: "Winnifred and I wish to thank you for our stay. You both run a very lovely B&B ( and Dinner) that has an atmosphere of warmth and a sense of home. Your cooking is excellent and the service and accommodations are stellar. Sorry we could not stay longer, but we do intend to come back soon!"

  • #162

    Maeve & Matt, Ottawa, ON (Tuesday, 24 November 2020 22:27)

    November 19, 2020, Guestbook: "What a lovely tasteful place for a great escape from the city. Sure to return soon."

  • #161

    Ashley & Shane, Sarnia, ON (Monday, 16 November 2020 11:08)

    November 15, 2020, Guestbook: "The quiet and the genuine haven here was a gorgeous thing. Never have we been so welcomed, so well-fed, so spoiled! Taking home some precious memories, hoping to come back someday. Thank you and 'dia dhaoibh'!"

  • #160

    Wendy & Steve, Montreal, QC (and South Africa) (Wednesday, 11 November 2020 12:50)

    This has been an out-of-this-world experience! (Thank goodness, because this world really needs some help right now).

    Alicia and Dave are welcoming and friendly hosts, and really interesting people. The genuine warmth of their hospitality makes this a cozy haven.

    Breakfasts taste like they are made in heaven, and dinners are the icing on top! Alicia's cheesecake is the best in this world (and probably any other world!)

    Many thanks to both of you.

  • #159

    Amita & Angus, Ottawa, ON (Wednesday, 11 November 2020 12:41)

    November 8, 2020, Guestbook: "We had an amazing relaxing weekend. Alicia and Dave are wonderful host. Thank you so much for the great memorable stay. Your breakfast was amazing, like heaven :) Enjoyed lovely dinner; gourmet eating. Can't wait to come back!!!

    Thank you for a wonderful weekend. It was just what we were looking for. Dinner was tremendous, followed with and amazing breakfast. The room is beautifully appointed and comfortable. Thnaks Again!"

  • #158

    Josh, Niagara, ON (Saturday, 31 October 2020 22:59)

    October 30, 2020, Guestbook: "What an amazing stay I had. Beautiful location, comfortable room, amazing food and even better HOST! I can't wait to come back and enjoy it all again."

  • #157

    Hollie & Jeff, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 25 October 2020 13:56)

    We had a fabulous time escaping the city at your lovely bnb. The comfy confines of the old stone house are unmatched in this peaceful and relaxing setting. And the food! What a treat. Hats off to the chef! Thanks so much!

  • #156

    Sarah & David, Prince Eward County, ON (Sunday, 25 October 2020 13:51)

    October 18, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for our wonderful stay at your beautiful property. We can't say enough about how delicious the food was. Will definitely recommend to all our friends."

  • #155

    Carol, Toronto, ON (Sunday, 25 October 2020 13:46)

    October 17, 2020 Guestbook: " Beautiful house, great food - welcoming hosts! Thank you!"

  • #154

    Christine, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 25 October 2020 13:42)

    October 16, 2020 Guestbook: "Stonegate - peace, tranquility, calm, welcoming, safe, connected to the land, beautiful, and hospitable. Just a few words that came to mind in describing your little piece of "heaven on earth". :)
    This was my first time vacationing alone. Thank you for providing such a warm and relaxing haven for me in the midst of a busy life. Alicia, your meals - wow! What can I say?! AMAZING! DELICIOUS! David - I sincerely appreciated your kindness and hospitality. I wish you both much success in your business and blessings for the years to come. Your hospitality is much appreciated. Thank you again and I hope to return soon for another stay."

  • #153

    Kim & Gwyon, Ottawa, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 21:22)

    October 4, 2020 Guestbook: "Loved our stay! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We felt totally at home and treated like Kings & Queens! Fantastic."

  • #152

    Ellen, Jeremie & Josephine, France (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 21:18)

    October 3, 2020 Guestbook: "What a wonderful stay in your place; everything was perfect. Thanks a lot for your hospitality, your cooking and your kindness!"

  • #151

    Caroline & Scott, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 21:14)

    October 2, 2020 Guestbook: "What a lovely spot you have here - so perfect for a refreshing break. Thank you for the delicious breakfasts served in your beautiful screened porch. We enjoyed that porch so much that we happily added another layer of clothing as the mornings got cooler and cooler! :) We wish you all the best with stewarding this gorgeous part of creation!!"

  • #150

    Diane & Terry, Ottawa, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 21:05)

    September 29, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for a lovely getaway. The food and ambiance are perfect. Great hospitality."

  • #149

    Monika & Pranav, Toronto, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 20:55)

    September 27, 2020 Guestbook: "Thanks for a very comfortable, relaxing and rejuvenating weekend stay at your lovely place. The food was absolutely stunning and delicious. This will be a memorable stay for us. We wish to return here sometime in the future. Wish you the very best in all your endeavours. Thanks again for your personal touch in every arrangement and service. It was just lovely!!!"

  • #148

    Mary & Gerry C, Ottawa, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 20:46)

    September 27, 2020 Guestbook: "Thanks for the lovely weekend. Beautiful B&B with amazing food!"

  • #147

    Rob & Trish, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 24 September 2020 16:29)

    Wow! Thank you so much for everything. It was a great place for us to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Meals and atmosphere were exceptional. We loved holding our happy hours in the gazebo. We really appreciated all the special effort in making us our 6-course meal for our anniversary! I won't need to eat for a week. The house and grounds are beautiful. We will be back!

    P.S. It is 42kms from Harlem Stonegate to Chaffey's Lock return, not 20kms LOL! It was [an] amazing cycling trip!

  • #146

    Sheila, Lindsay, ON & Ruth, Whitby, ON (Thursday, 24 September 2020)

    September 16, 2020 Guestbook: "What a relaxing three days! Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality! Your home is lovely -- thank you for sharing it with us! The meals were outstanding - Alicia is a fabulous cook & baker - loved the scones!"

  • #145

    Charles W., Ottawa, ON (Monday, 14 September 2020 14:48)

    September 13, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for all the effort and kindness you have given us this weekend. This is a beautiful and very well run establishment. Everything from the comfy rooms and well organized bathrooms to amazing food and a beautiful property. Would definitely recommend this place for a calm and quiet getaway. Thank you so much again for everything."

  • #144

    Julie & Gorden K., Belleville, ON (Monday, 14 September 2020 14:41)

    September 11, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for the wonderful time away. What a beautiful place you have. Thank you for your kind hospitality and most delicious food! We will highly recommend your lovely place & we will be back!"

  • #143

    Natalie & Terry, Kingston, ON (Monday, 07 September 2020 12:13)

    Guestbook: "Our stay was amazing, food was the best...very welcoming...will send you pics."

  • #142

    Anita & Tom, ON (Monday, 07 September 2020 12:11)

    Guestbook: "Thank you for your warm hospitality. Everything was just perfect. We could not have hoped for a more special place to unwind."

  • #141

    Juniper & Abe, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:38)

    September 6, 2020 Guestbook: " Alicia & David, thank you for a fabulous retreat. Our room was immaculate and the extra effort for our vegan breakfast was appreciated! We will be back to this little haven again. Thank you."

  • #140

    Troy & Michelle, Kars, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:34)

    September 5, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for opening your beautiful home to us! We loved every moment of our stay -- from exploring the beautiful property, to admiring the incredible workmanship & architecture. Your care and love of what you do show through in all the small details. The food was beyond compare. We loved everything and cannot wait to share with our friends. We only wish we could stay longer! Until then -- Warmest thanks."

  • #139

    Pam & Ian , Port Hope, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:19)

    September 4, 2020 Guestbook: "Wow! Such a beautiful home, location and atmosphere, combined with your amazing hospitality and fabulous cooking! Your hard work and attention to detail shines through. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it has been the tranquil and restful sojourn that we were seeking. Thank you so much."

  • #138

    Peter & Ginny W., Toronto, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:08)

    September 2, 2020 Guestbook: "It's been a real tonic! Thank you for making our firs visit to Harlem Stonegate so memorable. Your warm hospitality and the peace and beauty of your home we have appreciate as well the tour of the estate and gardens. But the artful and scrumptious meals in particular, we have enjoyed: complements to the chef and her first-rate kitchen! Delicious. It's been a truly delightful stay and we intend to spread the good news to friends and family.

    With sincere gratitude. "

  • #137

    Simon & Nicole, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:56)

    August 30, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for an amazing experience. We felt right at home the moment we walked in. We will definitely visit again! Also, the food was amazing!"

  • #136

    Clare & James, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:50)

    August 30, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you the wonderful stay and AMAZING hospitality! It was the perfect weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. We will be back!

    P.S. The food was absolutely Amazing!!"

  • #135

    Cheryl, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:43)

    August 28, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for a wonderful visit. The food was amazing and the hospitality superb. The massage with Suzanne was a most enjoyable experience that I highly recommend. I look forward to my next visit. All the best!"

  • #134

    Sharo & Patrick, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:34)

    August 26, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for a wonderful visit. We enjoyed the rooster chatting, the sheep conversation and the coyotes howling!! You served great breakfasts to set us on our day and wonderful dinners to wrap up. Your home and property are very welcoming and relaxing. We have really enjoyed our stay and meeting you both!"

  • #133

    Paul J., Niagara Region, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:19)

    August 25, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for a fabulous stay at your beautiful property -- five star in every sense. I will definitely be returning and will be recommending you to colleagues and friends."

  • #132

    Dee & Andre, Oshawa, ON (Sunday, 23 August 2020 20:59)

    Guestbook: “Thank you for the hospitality, delicious breakfast and dinner, and overall feelings of comfort and relaxation here at Harlem Stonegate! This will be the first of many trips back here on this beautiful property. We couldn’t recommend this place more!”

  • #131

    Joanne & Peter, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 23 August 2020 20:57)

    August 18, 2020 & August 23, 2020 Guestbook: “Thank you both so much for an absolutely fabulous stay! We immensely enjoyed our time at your beautiful B&B during our cycling holiday. From your warm company to the delicious meals and absolutely gorgeous property, everything was perfect. We will return next time our cycling travels bring us through this area ☺”.

  • #130

    Yvonne & Glenn, Carlton Place, ON (Sunday, 23 August 2020 20:53)

    August 22, 2020 Guestbook: “Alicia and David, what a pleasure it has been to spend a few days in your home. Your attention to detail is exemplary. Alicia your menu does you proud and David your vegetable garden is amazing! Thank you for showing me how you make your pasta and scones. I will be trying both at home. Best regards.”

  • #129

    Dia & Gerry, Mississauga, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:24)

    You know how to spoil your guests. Our stay was superb! We’ll pass along the good news to our friends.

  • #128

    Jason & Sandra, London, UK (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:23)

    August 19, 2020: Guestbook: “Thank you for a great/relaxing stay. The breakfasts were particularly amazing ☺”

  • #127

    Michal & April, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:21)

    August 16, 2020: Guestbook:

    “Thanks for a wonderful first stay and every bit of help with planning our wedding. You have a great property and real talent in culinary delights.”

    “We had a lovely, relaxing stay with you guys. Such a beautiful property & and such comfortable beds! We can’t wait to be back for the big day ☺”

  • #126

    Brittany & Steve, Kingston, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:20)

    August 16, 2020: Guestbook: “Thank you for a great stay and being so accommodating. The food was amazing and we would definitely recommend this B&B to our friends.”

  • #125

    Andrea & Frank, Long Sault, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:19)

    August 15, 2020: Guestbook: “We enjoyed our stay with you. Such a relaxing and beautiful place you have; food was delicious! Thank you for everything."

  • #124

    Natalia & Douglas, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:15)

    August 14 2020: Guestbook: “Thank you Alicia & David for being such amazing hosts! The meals, the ambiance, the conversation were all unforgettable!! We will be back for sure. Good luck to you and your family!”

  • #123

    Lindsay & Marc, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:14)

    August 10, 2020 Guestbook: “Thanks for hosting us and keeping us well fed! Such a beautiful spot to relax -- your home now has a place in our shortlist of special places to stay and recommend to others.”

  • #122

    Sandra & Russ, Port Dover, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:13)

    August 10, 2020 Guestbook: “Thanks for a wonderful stay. You both made us feel so welcome. The dinner and breakfast were so tasty. Will definitely recommended your B&B to our friends.”

  • #121

    Roselyn & Dan, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:11)

    August 9, 2020 Guestbook:

    "Thank you for providing such a beautiful sanctuary for us to relax and savour this moment together! We'll be back with friends!”

    “Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay. We will always treasure our memory of being here on our wedding day. The food, room style is so beautiful. We will be back ☺ What a wonderful, intimate family owned B&B - you are all so lovely and have created a wonderful atmosphere..."

  • #120

    Lisa & David, Ottawa, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:52)

    August 7, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for being a COVID silver lining! We appreciated your thoughtfulness and hospitality. Looking forward to the pleasure of seeing you again!"

  • #119

    Siobhan, Ottawa, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:49)

    August 7, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for an amazing couple of days. It was a very peaceful visit and exactly what I came for. Your property and house are beautiful and the food was amazing. You took very good care of me :) "

  • #118

    Fiza & Faheem, Toronto, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:44)

    August 3, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for an amazing time at this beautiful place of yours. We really enjoyed every bit of it. You guys are such amazing people. God bless you!"

  • #117

    Megan, Cameron & Delaney, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:39)

    August 3, 2020 Guestbook: "We wanted to thank you for the great hospitality and stay. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend you to others! We will be back."

  • #116

    Marc & Sandra, Ottawa, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:34)

    August 2, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for your kind hospitality, great food and great conversation!"