Guest Comments & reviews


Thank you for staying with us! 

 

We’ve enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit.  Tell us about your experience in the space below or on one of the following websites:

Finding us for the first time?

 

Here's what our guests are saying. You'll find a mixture of comments and reviews below and on the following websites:




Comments: 147
  • #147

    Rob & Trish, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 24 September 2020 16:29)

    Wow! Thank you so much for everything. It was a great place for us to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Meals and atmosphere were exceptional. We loved holding our happy hours in the gazebo. We really appreciated all the special effort in making us our 6-course meal for our anniversary! I won't need to eat for a week. The house and grounds are beautiful. We will be back!

    P.S. It is 42kms from Harlem Stonegate to Chaffey's Lock return, not 20kms LOL! It was [an] amazing cycling trip!

  • #146

    Sheila, Lindsay, ON & Ruth, Whitby, ON (Thursday, 24 September 2020)

    September 16, 2020 Guestbook: "What a relaxing three days! Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality! Your home is lovely -- thank you for sharing it with us! The meals were outstanding - Alicia is a fabulous cook & baker - loved the scones!"

  • #145

    Charles W., Ottawa, ON (Monday, 14 September 2020 14:48)

    September 13, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for all the effort and kindness you have given us this weekend. This is a beautiful and very well run establishment. Everything from the comfy rooms and well organized bathrooms to amazing food and a beautiful property. Would definitely recommend this place for a calm and quiet getaway. Thank you so much again for everything."

  • #144

    Julie & Gorden K., Belleville, ON (Monday, 14 September 2020 14:41)

    September 11, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for the wonderful time away. What a beautiful place you have. Thank you for your kind hospitality and most delicious food! We will highly recommend your lovely place & we will be back!"

  • #143

    Natalie & Terry, Kingston, ON (Monday, 07 September 2020 12:13)

    Guestbook: "Our stay was amazing, food was the best...very welcoming...will send you pics."

  • #142

    Anita & Tom, ON (Monday, 07 September 2020 12:11)

    Guestbook: "Thank you for your warm hospitality. Everything was just perfect. We could not have hoped for a more special place to unwind."

  • #141

    Juniper & Abe, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:38)

    September 6, 2020 Guestbook: " Alicia & David, thank you for a fabulous retreat. Our room was immaculate and the extra effort for our vegan breakfast was appreciated! We will be back to this little haven again. Thank you."

  • #140

    Troy & Michelle, Kars, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:34)

    September 5, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for opening your beautiful home to us! We loved every moment of our stay -- from exploring the beautiful property, to admiring the incredible workmanship & architecture. Your care and love of what you do show through in all the small details. The food was beyond compare. We loved everything and cannot wait to share with our friends. We only wish we could stay longer! Until then -- Warmest thanks."

  • #139

    Pam & Ian , Port Hope, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:19)

    September 4, 2020 Guestbook: "Wow! Such a beautiful home, location and atmosphere, combined with your amazing hospitality and fabulous cooking! Your hard work and attention to detail shines through. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it has been the tranquil and restful sojourn that we were seeking. Thank you so much."

  • #138

    Peter & Ginny W., Toronto, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:08)

    September 2, 2020 Guestbook: "It's been a real tonic! Thank you for making our firs visit to Harlem Stonegate so memorable. Your warm hospitality and the peace and beauty of your home we have appreciate as well the tour of the estate and gardens. But the artful and scrumptious meals in particular, we have enjoyed: complements to the chef and her first-rate kitchen! Delicious. It's been a truly delightful stay and we intend to spread the good news to friends and family.

    With sincere gratitude. "

  • #137

    Simon & Nicole, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:56)

    August 30, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for an amazing experience. We felt right at home the moment we walked in. We will definitely visit again! Also, the food was amazing!"

  • #136

    Clare & James, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:50)

    August 30, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you the wonderful stay and AMAZING hospitality! It was the perfect weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. We will be back!

    P.S. The food was absolutely Amazing!!"

  • #135

    Cheryl, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:43)

    August 28, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for a wonderful visit. The food was amazing and the hospitality superb. The massage with Suzanne was a most enjoyable experience that I highly recommend. I look forward to my next visit. All the best!"

  • #134

    Sharo & Patrick, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:34)

    August 26, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for a wonderful visit. We enjoyed the rooster chatting, the sheep conversation and the coyotes howling!! You served great breakfasts to set us on our day and wonderful dinners to wrap up. Your home and property are very welcoming and relaxing. We have really enjoyed our stay and meeting you both!"

  • #133

    Paul J., Niagara Region, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:19)

    August 25, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for a fabulous stay at your beautiful property -- five star in every sense. I will definitely be returning and will be recommending you to colleagues and friends."

  • #132

    Dee & Andre, Oshawa, ON (Sunday, 23 August 2020 20:59)

    Guestbook: “Thank you for the hospitality, delicious breakfast and dinner, and overall feelings of comfort and relaxation here at Harlem Stonegate! This will be the first of many trips back here on this beautiful property. We couldn’t recommend this place more!”

  • #131

    Joanne & Peter, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 23 August 2020 20:57)

    August 18, 2020 & August 23, 2020 Guestbook: “Thank you both so much for an absolutely fabulous stay! We immensely enjoyed our time at your beautiful B&B during our cycling holiday. From your warm company to the delicious meals and absolutely gorgeous property, everything was perfect. We will return next time our cycling travels bring us through this area ☺”.

  • #130

    Yvonne & Glenn, Carlton Place, ON (Sunday, 23 August 2020 20:53)

    August 22, 2020 Guestbook: “Alicia and David, what a pleasure it has been to spend a few days in your home. Your attention to detail is exemplary. Alicia your menu does you proud and David your vegetable garden is amazing! Thank you for showing me how you make your pasta and scones. I will be trying both at home. Best regards.”

  • #129

    Dia & Gerry, Mississauga, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:24)

    You know how to spoil your guests. Our stay was superb! We’ll pass along the good news to our friends.

  • #128

    Jason & Sandra, London, UK (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:23)

    August 19, 2020: Guestbook: “Thank you for a great/relaxing stay. The breakfasts were particularly amazing ☺”

  • #127

    Michal & April, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:21)

    August 16, 2020: Guestbook:

    “Thanks for a wonderful first stay and every bit of help with planning our wedding. You have a great property and real talent in culinary delights.”

    “We had a lovely, relaxing stay with you guys. Such a beautiful property & and such comfortable beds! We can’t wait to be back for the big day ☺”

  • #126

    Brittany & Steve, Kingston, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:20)

    August 16, 2020: Guestbook: “Thank you for a great stay and being so accommodating. The food was amazing and we would definitely recommend this B&B to our friends.”

  • #125

    Andrea & Frank, Long Sault, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:19)

    August 15, 2020: Guestbook: “We enjoyed our stay with you. Such a relaxing and beautiful place you have; food was delicious! Thank you for everything."

  • #124

    Natalia & Douglas, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:15)

    August 14 2020: Guestbook: “Thank you Alicia & David for being such amazing hosts! The meals, the ambiance, the conversation were all unforgettable!! We will be back for sure. Good luck to you and your family!”

  • #123

    Lindsay & Marc, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:14)

    August 10, 2020 Guestbook: “Thanks for hosting us and keeping us well fed! Such a beautiful spot to relax -- your home now has a place in our shortlist of special places to stay and recommend to others.”

  • #122

    Sandra & Russ, Port Dover, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:13)

    August 10, 2020 Guestbook: “Thanks for a wonderful stay. You both made us feel so welcome. The dinner and breakfast were so tasty. Will definitely recommended your B&B to our friends.”

  • #121

    Roselyn & Dan, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 20 August 2020 11:11)

    August 9, 2020 Guestbook:

    "Thank you for providing such a beautiful sanctuary for us to relax and savour this moment together! We'll be back with friends!”

    “Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay. We will always treasure our memory of being here on our wedding day. The food, room style is so beautiful. We will be back ☺ What a wonderful, intimate family owned B&B - you are all so lovely and have created a wonderful atmosphere..."

  • #120

    Lisa & David, Ottawa, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:52)

    August 7, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for being a COVID silver lining! We appreciated your thoughtfulness and hospitality. Looking forward to the pleasure of seeing you again!"

  • #119

    Siobhan, Ottawa, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:49)

    August 7, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for an amazing couple of days. It was a very peaceful visit and exactly what I came for. Your property and house are beautiful and the food was amazing. You took very good care of me :) "

  • #118

    Fiza & Faheem, Toronto, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:44)

    August 3, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for an amazing time at this beautiful place of yours. We really enjoyed every bit of it. You guys are such amazing people. God bless you!"

  • #117

    Megan, Cameron & Delaney, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:39)

    August 3, 2020 Guestbook: "We wanted to thank you for the great hospitality and stay. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend you to others! We will be back."

  • #116

    Marc & Sandra, Ottawa, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:34)

    August 2, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for your kind hospitality, great food and great conversation!"

  • #115

    The McPherson's, ON (Monday, 17 August 2020 21:31)

    August 2, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for having us! My family and I had a great time, and the food was amazing! We hope to be back soon!"

  • #114

    Sherri & Neil, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 30 July 2020 18:10)

    Fantastic place to stay and enjoyed the cycling. Host are exceptional. We will be back!

  • #113

    Andy & Rodney, Hamiliton, ON (Thursday, 30 July 2020 18:07)

    Alicia & David provided us with a wonderful & peaceful getaway. The property is lovely. The food was amazing, including David's homemade maple syrup! They are truly wonderful people!

  • #112

    Kim & Chris, Kingston, ON (Thursday, 30 July 2020)

    July 29, 2020 Guestbook: "W enjoyed ourselves during our short stay. Alicia & David made both of us comfortable. Had great conversations with all."

  • #111

    Naomi L., Montreal, QC (Thursday, 30 July 2020 17:58)

    July 28, 2020 Guestbook: "David & Alicia are wonderful hosts, very attentive and made our stay comfortable and memorable. The place is beautiful & well kept and food was amazing! Highly recommended!"

  • #110

    Yovonne, Port Hope, ON (Thursday, 30 July 2020 17:53)

    July 28, 2020 Guestbook: "What a wonderful oasis for a three day stay. Everything was so peaceful and comfortable, and the food was superb. Thank you Alicia & David for a hospitable stay."

  • #109

    Karen H, ON (Thursday, 30 July 2020 17:47)

    July 26, 2020 Guestbook: "Such a special stay at Harlem Stonegate. Everything was just perfect in every way! Thank you!"

  • #108

    Donna & Bill, Guelph, ON (Tuesday, 21 July 2020 08:38)

    Thanks for a great place from which to explore the countryside. An incredible dinner with local foods and special touches from the garden. The place is very peaceful and we loved having our breakfast outside with to the sounds of birds and farm animals.

    Absolutely beautiful! Local everything. So much attention to little details. Spotlessly clean! Charmingly decorated too!! Thank You!!

  • #107

    Josianne & Jonathan, QC (Monday, 20 July 2020 22:00)

    Guestbook: "AMAZING!! Thank you for everything, you guys are wonderful. Great host, amazing food and wonderful land! Harlem Stonegate, we will see you again."

  • #106

    Elodie & Charles (Sunday, 19 July 2020 20:26)

    Guestbook: "Second time here and still amazing!! Thank you for the wonderful stay, everything is perfect. Your place in the nature is a little piece of heaven!"

  • #105

    Martine, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 19 July 2020 20:21)

    Guestbook: "I am so happy that I found the Harlem Stonegate! The hospitality is outstanding, the food was scrumptious! Thank you Alicia an David. Definitely a highlight of my bike trip."

  • #104

    Annemeek & Norm, Toronto, ON (Sunday, 19 July 2020 20:16)

    July 18, 2020, Guestbook: “Our second time at Harlem Stonegate. A welcome escape from the city to this lovely setting. We love the (new) veranda for the enjoyment of your amazing cooking, Alicia, as well as the sounds of nature!! Our Stonegate room is luxurious and so comfortable. Thanks, Alicia and David for your amazing hospitality!”

  • #103

    Marian & Hans, Mississauga, ON (Friday, 17 July 2020 21:05)

    Guestbook: "What a wonderful stay! We have been totally spoiled - lovely surroundings, comfortable room and facilities, and fantastic meals promoting rest and relaxation. Thanks Alicia and David - you go above and beyond!"

  • #102

    Micha, Toronto, ON (Tuesday, 07 July 2020 12:58)

    July 5, 2020 Guestbook: "From the moment you see the Harlem Stonegate, the beautiful trees and warm sunlight hits you and you feel like you're home. Lisa [Alicia] and Dave create a magical atmosphere that makes you never want to leave! From setting up the yoga studio, helping bring the kayaks to the lake, riding bicycles for a scenic trip around Portland and finally cooking incredibly delicious meals, this kind of hospitality is unrivaled! Looking forward to staying here again."

  • #101

    David, Toronto, ON (Tuesday, 07 July 2020 12:45)

    July 5, 2020 Guestbook: "Easily one of the nicest stays at a bed and breakfast that I've ever had. The attention to detail in every regard was off the charts! Alicia and David, the two of you were the most gracious and accommodating of hosts. For the first time in a long time, I felt like I found and amazing home away from home! I will definitely be recommending you to friends of mine and I hope to be back soon! Thanks again."

  • #100

    Leche & Jake, ON (Tuesday, 07 July 2020 12:35)

    July 5, 2020, Guestbook: "Absolutely amazing! We had a phenomenal time, nothing like it! So peaceful, relaxing, close to nature. You guys are amazing hosts, so kind and welcoming. Felt like coming home. Just didn't have enough time. Love you guys! Coming back ASAP!"

  • #99

    Mary & Richard, Aylmer, QC (Tuesday, 07 July 2020 12:28)

    July 3, 2020 Guestbook: " Couldn't ask for a lovelier place. A jewel of a B&B. Charming hosts who obviously put 100% of their effort into creating sophisticated meals and the ultimate in comfort and atmosphere. We'll definitely recommend [Harlem] Stonegate to our friends and family ;) !"

  • #98

    Stephanie, Ottawa, ON (Tuesday, 07 July 2020 12:20)

    July 3, 2020 Guestbook: "What a pleasure to have stayed with you. Being conscious of the virus going on, I felt safe and secure to stay and relax. The little details, like cookies, the food made the stay enjoyable. I enjoyed that I got to taste your little garden in my meals. Thank you for sharing."