Guest Comments & reviews


Finding us for the first time?

 

Here's what our guests are saying. You'll find a mixture of comments and reviews below and on the following websites:




Thank you for staying with us! 

 

We’ve enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit.  Tell us about your experience in the space below or on one of the websites above:


Comments: 182
  • #182

    Janet and Kerry (Sunday, 05 September 2021 13:18)

    What a wonderful relaxing stay. Dave and Alicia were lovely hosts. Food was delicious - encourage you to consider having them prepare dinner for you one evening. Farm to table - so fresh! We look forward to our next visit!

  • #181

    Glenn & Linda, On (Thursday, 29 July 2021 22:07)

    Thank you Alicia and Dave for a most enjoyable stay at your beautiful B&B. From your warm welcome, to our lovely room with such a comfortable bed, the large unique bathroom with the extra little amenities and of course the delicious breakfasts. You made us feel at home in your home - we will definitely be back! Cheers!

  • #180

    Erin & Sean, ON (Friday, 16 April 2021 19:54)

    Guestbook: "Thank you for the lovely getaway. What a special place you've created / are creating! Look forward to returning to see development abound. Also, thanks for the delicious dinner!"

  • #179

    Kayla & Travis, ON (Friday, 16 April 2021)

    April 11, 2021 Guestbook: "Thank you so much, your home is beautiful, the food was amazing and you are such amazing hosts. Thank you for accommodating my gluten allergy, the best G-F food I have had! We will definitely be back and send people here too. Amazing stay, thank you again so much!"

  • #178

    Catherine & Shane, Ottawa, ON (Friday, 16 April 2021 19:43)

    April 11, 2021 Guestbook: "Thank you guys so much for hosting our wedding! You have been so accommodating and we appreciate all the effort and meals!"

  • #177

    Gordon D. Ottawa, ON (Friday, 16 April 2021 19:39)

    April 10, 2021 Guestbook: "Nice place! I always like the old style with some new additions, clean and organized! I really like the stone of the house and the wood frame work of the windows, and the floors are nice too. The old stone structure outside where the animals were before is nice. It would be nice if you could save the building. I'm not used to being served, so I'm enjoying this scene. I need to be spoiled especially now. Thank you Alicia and David."

    "The steak dinner was perfect, awesome! Taste, texture and presentation too!"

  • #176

    Carole & Julien, Montreal, QC (Monday, 05 April 2021 10:51)

    Guestbook: "Thank you both, Alicia and Dave, for your warm welcome! Your kindness and your attentions. Our brief stay was perfect: the food delicious, the room is cozy and comfy and the place is peaceful. It was an amazing evening outside near the fire pit with the sky full of stars. Magic! We will come back! Thank you."

  • #175

    Jade & Jason, Kingston, ON (Monday, 05 April 2021 10:29)

    April 4. 2021 Guestbook: " Thank you so much for a perfect B&B experience! Your place is beautiful, homey, and comfortable. The ambiance is friendly and the food divine! We were thoroughly impressed with every aspect of our stay."

  • #174

    Sabeena & Olivier, Montreal, QC (Saturday, 03 April 2021 21:17)

    Guestbook: "Thank you very much for a memorable experience at Harlem Stonegate. Your hospitality, attention to details and cooking far exceeded our expectations. Thank you again for accommodating our dietary restrictions and for treating us like royalty! We look forward to coming back in the future."

  • #173

    Kat & Adam, Kingston, ON (Monday, 29 March 2021 18:25)

    March 29, 2021 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality and for letting us stay in your beautiful home. It was [a] lovely escape from our busy lives. The food was amazing and we really appreciated your welcome present!"

  • #172

    Paula & Karl, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 25 March 2021 17:02)

    March 23, 2021 Guestbook: "Thank you for treating us like absolute royalty! We loved our room -- the fireplace was a lovely and romantic feature, which we enjoyed. We had excellent sleeps here! Alicia - you truly have a gift! Your meals were exquisite! Thanks so much for the birthday cake for Karl - that made our getaway and birthday celebration so much more special. Our favourite meal was Dave's grilled chicken with homemade fettuccine and vegetables. The breakfast crapes were also outstanding. We enjoyed our wondering through Westport, our hike at Foley's Conservation Area and our visit to Kilborn's (what a place!). We will return to this peaceful and relaxing - beautiful Home."

  • #171

    Monica & Dave, Kingston, ON (Sunday, 07 March 2021 10:36)

    "This was a wonderful escape from our COVID world - a safe haven! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home and [leading] us on explorations of your garden on our plates at breakfast and dinners!"

  • #170

    Sharon, Lisa & Margaret, Ottawa, ON (Tuesday, 02 March 2021 08:08)

    February 28, 2021 Guestbook: "Thank you for everything -- lovely home, delicious food! Beautiful & peaceful.”

  • #169

    Marc & Sandra, Ottawa, ON (Tuesday, 02 March 2021 08:06)

    February 27, 2021 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for your kind hospitality. Coming to Harlem Stonegate was a respite during COVID, which was much appreciated. We would like to thank you for the excellent dinner (lamb chops barbecued by Dave with Greek salad, asparagus and potatoes), which you served us. The breakfast was sublime! Thank you for your attention to detail. You are great hosts! Thanks again!”

  • #168

    Jenn & Josh, Ottawa, ON (Tuesday, 02 March 2021 07:57)

    February 21, 2021 Guestbook: "Thank you for an amazing stay. The room helped us reconnect as a couple and with ourselves. The food and service exceeded our expectations. Thanks for this getaway!!"

  • #167

    Lisa & Dan, Barrie, ON (Monday, 22 February 2021 11:02)

    February 21, 2021 Guestbook: "Such a wonderful weekend spent with you both! It went waaayy too fast! You have such a gracious way with everything you both do. The food, decor and outdoor beauty is one of kind experience. Looking forward to coming back to see it in the summer!! Hopefully without masks :) Thank you."

  • #166

    Shari & Randy, Bath, ON (Wednesday, 09 December 2020 12:21)

    Guestbook: "Our stay at Stonegate Farms exceeded our expectations tremendously. We were hoping to find a comfy bed to sleep in as we completed the Cataraqui Trail from Strathcona to Smiths Falls, but this was so much more. The bnb is so well appointed and comfy; after a day of hiking we were treated to Alicia's fabulous culinary skills that left us so very grateful we found you! As foodies we were beyond impressed with breakfast and dinner and would sincerely recommend a stay here as a culinary destination. Thank you so much for your hospitality!"

  • #165

    Liz & Michel, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 29 November 2020 21:20)

    This is a very beautiful haven from city life and the day-to-day challenges of living in a pandemic. We found you by chance on the Internet and are very glad we did! Your B&B is beautiful, the food is AMAZING, and you make such an effort to ensure all the small details are taken care of. Thank you for everything – we felt very well taken of! We will be back and recommending Harlem Stonegate to our friends.

  • #164

    Leche & Jake, Whitby, ON (Tuesday, 24 November 2020 22:44)

    November 23, 2020, Guestbook: "This special spot you have created and nurtured has quickly become a gem for us! We feel as though Harlem Stonegate B&B is a golden find that every Torontonian MUST experience at least once. Thank you for the thought and care you have put into every little detail! We notice and appreciate. AND to be honest we are already planning our next trip up. See you soon..."

  • #163

    Winnifred & Thomas, Montreal, QC (Tuesday, 24 November 2020 22:34)

    November 23, 2020, Guestbook: "Winnifred and I wish to thank you for our stay. You both run a very lovely B&B ( and Dinner) that has an atmosphere of warmth and a sense of home. Your cooking is excellent and the service and accommodations are stellar. Sorry we could not stay longer, but we do intend to come back soon!"

  • #162

    Maeve & Matt, Ottawa, ON (Tuesday, 24 November 2020 22:27)

    November 19, 2020, Guestbook: "What a lovely tasteful place for a great escape from the city. Sure to return soon."

  • #161

    Ashley & Shane, Sarnia, ON (Monday, 16 November 2020 11:08)

    November 15, 2020, Guestbook: "The quiet and the genuine haven here was a gorgeous thing. Never have we been so welcomed, so well-fed, so spoiled! Taking home some precious memories, hoping to come back someday. Thank you and 'dia dhaoibh'!"

  • #160

    Wendy & Steve, Montreal, QC (and South Africa) (Wednesday, 11 November 2020 12:50)

    This has been an out-of-this-world experience! (Thank goodness, because this world really needs some help right now).

    Alicia and Dave are welcoming and friendly hosts, and really interesting people. The genuine warmth of their hospitality makes this a cozy haven.

    Breakfasts taste like they are made in heaven, and dinners are the icing on top! Alicia's cheesecake is the best in this world (and probably any other world!)

    Many thanks to both of you.

  • #159

    Amita & Angus, Ottawa, ON (Wednesday, 11 November 2020 12:41)

    November 8, 2020, Guestbook: "We had an amazing relaxing weekend. Alicia and Dave are wonderful host. Thank you so much for the great memorable stay. Your breakfast was amazing, like heaven :) Enjoyed lovely dinner; gourmet eating. Can't wait to come back!!!

    Thank you for a wonderful weekend. It was just what we were looking for. Dinner was tremendous, followed with and amazing breakfast. The room is beautifully appointed and comfortable. Thnaks Again!"

  • #158

    Josh, Niagara, ON (Saturday, 31 October 2020 22:59)

    October 30, 2020, Guestbook: "What an amazing stay I had. Beautiful location, comfortable room, amazing food and even better HOST! I can't wait to come back and enjoy it all again."

  • #157

    Hollie & Jeff, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 25 October 2020 13:56)

    We had a fabulous time escaping the city at your lovely bnb. The comfy confines of the old stone house are unmatched in this peaceful and relaxing setting. And the food! What a treat. Hats off to the chef! Thanks so much!

  • #156

    Sarah & David, Prince Eward County, ON (Sunday, 25 October 2020 13:51)

    October 18, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for our wonderful stay at your beautiful property. We can't say enough about how delicious the food was. Will definitely recommend to all our friends."

  • #155

    Carol, Toronto, ON (Sunday, 25 October 2020 13:46)

    October 17, 2020 Guestbook: " Beautiful house, great food - welcoming hosts! Thank you!"

  • #154

    Christine, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 25 October 2020 13:42)

    October 16, 2020 Guestbook: "Stonegate - peace, tranquility, calm, welcoming, safe, connected to the land, beautiful, and hospitable. Just a few words that came to mind in describing your little piece of "heaven on earth". :)
    This was my first time vacationing alone. Thank you for providing such a warm and relaxing haven for me in the midst of a busy life. Alicia, your meals - wow! What can I say?! AMAZING! DELICIOUS! David - I sincerely appreciated your kindness and hospitality. I wish you both much success in your business and blessings for the years to come. Your hospitality is much appreciated. Thank you again and I hope to return soon for another stay."

  • #153

    Kim & Gwyon, Ottawa, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 21:22)

    October 4, 2020 Guestbook: "Loved our stay! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We felt totally at home and treated like Kings & Queens! Fantastic."

  • #152

    Ellen, Jeremie & Josephine, France (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 21:18)

    October 3, 2020 Guestbook: "What a wonderful stay in your place; everything was perfect. Thanks a lot for your hospitality, your cooking and your kindness!"

  • #151

    Caroline & Scott, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 21:14)

    October 2, 2020 Guestbook: "What a lovely spot you have here - so perfect for a refreshing break. Thank you for the delicious breakfasts served in your beautiful screened porch. We enjoyed that porch so much that we happily added another layer of clothing as the mornings got cooler and cooler! :) We wish you all the best with stewarding this gorgeous part of creation!!"

  • #150

    Diane & Terry, Ottawa, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 21:05)

    September 29, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for a lovely getaway. The food and ambiance are perfect. Great hospitality."

  • #149

    Monika & Pranav, Toronto, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 20:55)

    September 27, 2020 Guestbook: "Thanks for a very comfortable, relaxing and rejuvenating weekend stay at your lovely place. The food was absolutely stunning and delicious. This will be a memorable stay for us. We wish to return here sometime in the future. Wish you the very best in all your endeavours. Thanks again for your personal touch in every arrangement and service. It was just lovely!!!"

  • #148

    Mary & Gerry C, Ottawa, ON (Wednesday, 07 October 2020 20:46)

    September 27, 2020 Guestbook: "Thanks for the lovely weekend. Beautiful B&B with amazing food!"

  • #147

    Rob & Trish, Ottawa, ON (Thursday, 24 September 2020 16:29)

    Wow! Thank you so much for everything. It was a great place for us to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Meals and atmosphere were exceptional. We loved holding our happy hours in the gazebo. We really appreciated all the special effort in making us our 6-course meal for our anniversary! I won't need to eat for a week. The house and grounds are beautiful. We will be back!

    P.S. It is 42kms from Harlem Stonegate to Chaffey's Lock return, not 20kms LOL! It was [an] amazing cycling trip!

  • #146

    Sheila, Lindsay, ON & Ruth, Whitby, ON (Thursday, 24 September 2020)

    September 16, 2020 Guestbook: "What a relaxing three days! Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality! Your home is lovely -- thank you for sharing it with us! The meals were outstanding - Alicia is a fabulous cook & baker - loved the scones!"

  • #145

    Charles W., Ottawa, ON (Monday, 14 September 2020 14:48)

    September 13, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for all the effort and kindness you have given us this weekend. This is a beautiful and very well run establishment. Everything from the comfy rooms and well organized bathrooms to amazing food and a beautiful property. Would definitely recommend this place for a calm and quiet getaway. Thank you so much again for everything."

  • #144

    Julie & Gorden K., Belleville, ON (Monday, 14 September 2020 14:41)

    September 11, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for the wonderful time away. What a beautiful place you have. Thank you for your kind hospitality and most delicious food! We will highly recommend your lovely place & we will be back!"

  • #143

    Natalie & Terry, Kingston, ON (Monday, 07 September 2020 12:13)

    Guestbook: "Our stay was amazing, food was the best...very welcoming...will send you pics."

  • #142

    Anita & Tom, ON (Monday, 07 September 2020 12:11)

    Guestbook: "Thank you for your warm hospitality. Everything was just perfect. We could not have hoped for a more special place to unwind."

  • #141

    Juniper & Abe, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:38)

    September 6, 2020 Guestbook: " Alicia & David, thank you for a fabulous retreat. Our room was immaculate and the extra effort for our vegan breakfast was appreciated! We will be back to this little haven again. Thank you."

  • #140

    Troy & Michelle, Kars, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:34)

    September 5, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for opening your beautiful home to us! We loved every moment of our stay -- from exploring the beautiful property, to admiring the incredible workmanship & architecture. Your care and love of what you do show through in all the small details. The food was beyond compare. We loved everything and cannot wait to share with our friends. We only wish we could stay longer! Until then -- Warmest thanks."

  • #139

    Pam & Ian , Port Hope, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:19)

    September 4, 2020 Guestbook: "Wow! Such a beautiful home, location and atmosphere, combined with your amazing hospitality and fabulous cooking! Your hard work and attention to detail shines through. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it has been the tranquil and restful sojourn that we were seeking. Thank you so much."

  • #138

    Peter & Ginny W., Toronto, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 12:08)

    September 2, 2020 Guestbook: "It's been a real tonic! Thank you for making our firs visit to Harlem Stonegate so memorable. Your warm hospitality and the peace and beauty of your home we have appreciate as well the tour of the estate and gardens. But the artful and scrumptious meals in particular, we have enjoyed: complements to the chef and her first-rate kitchen! Delicious. It's been a truly delightful stay and we intend to spread the good news to friends and family.

    With sincere gratitude. "

  • #137

    Simon & Nicole, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:56)

    August 30, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you so much for an amazing experience. We felt right at home the moment we walked in. We will definitely visit again! Also, the food was amazing!"

  • #136

    Clare & James, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:50)

    August 30, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you the wonderful stay and AMAZING hospitality! It was the perfect weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. We will be back!

    P.S. The food was absolutely Amazing!!"

  • #135

    Cheryl, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:43)

    August 28, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for a wonderful visit. The food was amazing and the hospitality superb. The massage with Suzanne was a most enjoyable experience that I highly recommend. I look forward to my next visit. All the best!"

  • #134

    Sharo & Patrick, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:34)

    August 26, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for a wonderful visit. We enjoyed the rooster chatting, the sheep conversation and the coyotes howling!! You served great breakfasts to set us on our day and wonderful dinners to wrap up. Your home and property are very welcoming and relaxing. We have really enjoyed our stay and meeting you both!"

  • #133

    Paul J., Niagara Region, ON (Sunday, 06 September 2020 11:19)

    August 25, 2020 Guestbook: "Thank you for a fabulous stay at your beautiful property -- five star in every sense. I will definitely be returning and will be recommending you to colleagues and friends."