Guest Comments & reviews


Thank you for staying with us! 

 

We’ve enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit.  Tell us about your experience in the space below or on one of the following websites:

Finding us for the first time?

 

Here's what our guests are saying. You'll find a mixture of comments and reviews below and on the following websites:




Comments: 96
  • #96

    Erin & Doug, Ottawa, ON (Tuesday, 30 June 2020 08:29)

    June 29, 2020 Guestbook: "Well, what to say? Great place, phenomenal food, fantastic company, stupendous service…can’t wait to return! Need we say more?"

  • #95

    Cecile et Florent, Montreal, QC (Tuesday, 30 June 2020 08:27)

    June 28, 2020 Guestbook: "A fantastic stay in this a calm and peaceful place. Finding our oasis of peace after a terrible [rain] storm was relieving! Alicia and David form a great team, handling electricity challenges [power outage] and cooking dinner at the same time. Looking forward to come back!

    Merci pour ce bel accueil! Un tres bel environment, une maison magnifique et tres bein repas! Au plesuir de revenir."

  • #94

    Justine Harmsen (Monday, 08 June 2020 16:51)

    I wish I could have stayed longer, and I will certainly be back! The room was so tastefully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable, but the best part was certainly the food and the hospitality! Thank you Alicia and David for your care and attention to detail, it was a pleasure to meet you!

  • #93

    George (Thursday, 30 April 2020 13:17)

    This review is just over 2 months late. My apologies to Alicia & David. Gen (love of my life) and I booked our stay for the Friday/Saturday of St. Valentines Day weekend and due to unexpected circumstances we arrived late, about 9:30 pm. They couldn't have been more gracious.

    I could write a novel about the experience we had at the B&B but I will try to keep it short with the highlights.

    1. Alicia & David are great people to spend time with and have interesting stories to tell. They also respect their guests and try to ensure you have your alone time as well. As far as I'm concerned they struck the perfect balance.

    2. All the food is homemade, right down to the sauces and jellies - most of which is made with ingredients that they have grown in their garden. Alicia is a very talented chef who puts love into each meal. The Valentines Day dinner was out of this world! A five course meal consisting of: Butternut Squash Soup, Vegan Ravioli (walnut/spinach) on Pesto, Sorbet Palate Cleanser (lemon/lime and raspberry), Pork Tenderloin for me (veggies and herb long grain and wild rice) and Salmon Teriyaki (veggies and garlic mashed) for Gen, and individual 2 bite vegan chocolate cakes, lemon tarts, and Meringues (mine had concord grape puree and Gen's was Strawberry). ALL of this meal was made from scratch and was much more enjoyable than high end restaurants I've eaten in.

    3. We stayed in the Stonegate room which is a lot larger than it appears in the photo's and waiting for us was a stack of homemade cookies and glass bottled water. The bed is very comfy and the gas fireplace is run by the thermostat in the room, so on a chilly night you have that romantic glow most of the night.

    We will be going back and cannot wait to walk the property on a cool autumn evening. I give Alicia & David and the whole experience 100 out of 10.

    PS - buy her Jalapeno Pepper Jelly, it is out of this world!!

  • #92

    Michael, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 15 March 2020 13:35)

    March 14, 2020, Guestbook: "A tremendous experience -- relaxing, warm, and cozy. The breakfasts were amazing; very enjoyable time. Thank you so much Alicia & David."

  • #91

    Melanie & Keiran, Toronto, ON (Wednesday, 11 March 2020 21:51)

    Guestbook: "What a wonderful spot! Alicia and David thank you so much for your warm hospitality. Dinner last night was fantastic and breakfast this morning so delicious. We look forward to hopefully getting to know you better in the near future! All the very best and thanks again."

  • #90

    Wesley & Alicia, Burlington, ON (Monday, 17 February 2020 21:10)

    Guestbook: "Merci de votre hospitalite! We had the loveliest time at the Harlem Stonegate B&B, both in terms of your upstanding service and warm conversation. Thank you for some of the tastiest breakfasts we've had in a long time, and for suggesting all of the best winter sports locations. You've truly built a B&B to be proud of!"

  • #89

    Denise & Phil, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 16 February 2020 12:34)

    Guestbook: "You shared so much more than this beautiful home - you shared yourselves. Wonderful cooking (and grilling!), great stories and beautiful setting, & above all your warmth (which would be outstanding even if not in the midst of the Canadian winter)."

  • #88

    Gen D., Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 16 February 2020 12:24)

    February 15, 2020, Guestbook: "Amazing hospitality! A true respite from the everyday life. Quaint, charming, and intuitive ambience; Harlem Stonegate is our new favourite B&B. Love your cooking Alicia, truly amazing! Love the library too! Thank you both (David & Alicia) for your warmth, kindness and love that you bring into your home and for your guests..."

  • #87

    George G., Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 16 February 2020 12:22)

    February 15, 2020, Guestbook: "Absolutely fantastic! Words cannot do justice to the hospitality, food (fresh & homemade), scenery, and generosity of Alicia & David. They are welcoming, open, and genuine."

  • #86

    Tom Girling, Toronto, ON (Wednesday, 29 January 2020 21:17)

    January 11, 2020, Google Review: "High quality in every regard. Alicia and Dave are the most gracious hosts. The Inn is charming and warm. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds are especially comfortable and cozy. The most excellent breakfast I’ve had in a long time. You will definitely appreciate the care they put into their gourmet breakfast and every other detail. A real treat when you are on the road."

  • #85

    Vivian and Gerald Hall (Burlington, Ontario) (Friday, 24 January 2020 14:24)

    Alicia and David are so gracious! They make you feel like it is your own home. The surroundings have nice views to inspire good conversations! The bed is very comfortable and the excellent breakfast is farm fresh with ingredients from their own garden. Harlem Stonegate B&B is one of the best B&Bs around. We enjoyed our visit very much.

  • #84

    Patrice Z., Montreal, QC (Wednesday, 15 January 2020 12:08)

    23novembre2019: "Merci de m'avoir permis de passer une belle soirée d'astronomie dans votre belle propriété. Vous êtes des gens très charmants et ce fut un plaisir de discuter avec vous. Le petit déjeuner était excellent! Merci pour toute l'aide que vous m'avez apportée. À bientôt!"

  • #83

    Ashley & Kavi, NY (Wednesday, 15 January 2020 10:34)

    December 27, 2019, Guestbook: "David & Alicia,
    Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! Your home is full of warmth and charm; we are grateful for the experience. It was a pleasure chatting with you through breakfast. It truly is a small world! I’m excited to master the scrabbled eggs. We’ll definitely share pictures. Thank you once again for opening your home to us. We hope to see you soon."

  • #82

    Jillian, Toronto, ON (Tuesday, 14 January 2020 21:21)

    December 26, 2019, Expedia Review: "A beautiful property with such warm, attentive hosts. A true gem in the area!"

  • #81

    Colleen & Don, Toronto, ON (Monday, 21 October 2019 00:18)

    Guestbook: "Harlem Stonegate is a fabulous retreat. Our hosts, David & Alicia are delightful. Our stay was comfortable and fun, food was delicious -- Alicia is a gourmet chef. We look forward to our return visit."

  • #80

    Barbara & Greg, Buffalo, NY (Monday, 21 October 2019 00:08)

    October 19, 2019, Guestbook: "Ahhhh...a peace filled exhale. Fresh air, sunshine, a color pallet of fall foliage. [Harlem] Stonegate is heavens doorstep! The home and surrounding property are just lovely. Our every comfort was anticipated and met! Alicia and David made us so welcome and we loved every moment of our stay. Delicious food, wholesome and healthy -- a bed that was like sleeping on a cloud! Can't wait to come back in the Spring."

  • #79

    Elodie & Charles, Toronto, ON (Monday, 07 October 2019 23:07)

    Merci beaucoup for this amazing stay! We enjoyed everything from the amazing bed, the nice cookies, treats in the room to the incredible breakfast. You are amazing hostess and we will definitely come back!! Your home is beautiful, a small piece of heaven outside the city! Thanks a lot!!

  • #78

    Barb & Alan, Kitchener, ON (Monday, 07 October 2019 22:56)

    October 5, 2019, Guestbook: "Such an enjoyable stay! Star gazing at night, a soak in the tub, a great sleep in a comfortable bed. The breakfast was over the top with everything you could ever want and more. We will return. Thanks!"

  • #77

    Sherry & Wade, Cape Breton, NS (Monday, 07 October 2019 22:52)

    October 4, 2019, Guestbook: "Thank you for an Amazing two night stay, sharing your lovely home with us! Felt as if it was our own family we were visiting...Hopefully we will be back sometime. Meals were Amazing! Sure didn't leave the table hungry... Enjoyed your lovely home, grounds and fresh garden vegetables...you're amazing hosts..."

  • #76

    Becky & Cecile, Nova Scotia (Monday, 07 October 2019 22:40)

    October 4, 2019, Guestbook: "We enjoyed our stay and lovely meal. You do have a unique bed & breakfast, the house has so much history. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality."

  • #75

    Karen & Jonas, Florida (Monday, 07 October 2019 22:34)

    Thank you so much for all your help - amazing! Food was a wonderful treat - your place was great - thank you - thank you - so much!

  • #74

    Anne, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 22 September 2019 22:00)

    So nice to be back again. Everything is fabulous as usual. See you next year!

  • #73

    Mary A., Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 22 September 2019 21:57)

    Lovely setting, grounds, really comfortable beds, great breakfast. Thanks!

  • #72

    Ashley & Val, Toronto, ON (Sunday, 22 September 2019 21:51)

    September 17-20, 2019, Guestbook: "Many thanks to Alicia & David! What a relaxing escape from the big city. From the breathtaking dark starry sky to the delicious healthy meals, this was a getaway that we won't soon forget. Special thanks for all the extra touches and kind gestures that made us feel extra welcome. We look forward to spreading the word about this wonderful oasis in Rideau!"

  • #71

    Lisa & Dean, Ottawa, ON (Sunday, 22 September 2019 21:42)

    September 15, 2019, Guestbook: "Thanks very much for the enchanting visit and warm welcome. You have a lovely property and your meals were outstanding. We were only here for one night in the fall...it would have been really awesome to have been able to go on a hike to see the rest of your property...lots to see. Wishing you prosparity and happiness."

  • #70

    Barb & Russ, Montreal, QC (Thursday, 19 September 2019)

    September 15, 2019, Guestbook: "Great visit. Wonderful breakfast. Very pleasant stay."

  • #69

    Amen & Dinesh, ON (Thursday, 19 September 2019 22:39)

    September 15, 2019, Google Review: "The hosts make sure you have everything you need for the length of your trip. Even though their website mentions that they need a 24 hr notice for a dinner request but they were gracious enough to do so right after we checked in because we were too tired to go out for dinner. Both dinner and breakfast were 5 star restaurant worthy. The property itself is an experience on its own. The hosts gave us a tour of their garden, barn and yoga/zen studio that was built amidst complete wilderness and was definitely something that we had never witnessed before. The b&b is truly a well kept secret and its a must visit if you seek relaxation of the mind and soul. Thank you David and Alicia, you guys were amazing."

  • #68

    Lyn & Roy, Peterbrough, ON (Monday, 09 September 2019 22:07)

    September 8, 2019, Guestbook: "A wonderful place -- thanks for welcoming us so warmly and providing a lovely place to relax and spend an evening. Comfortable bed, delicious breakfast."

  • #67

    Ron & Mary Frances T., ON (Monday, 09 September 2019 22:00)

    September 8, 2019, Guestbook: "Thank you Alicia & David. The place is fantastic, and so are both of you. I think you have found your "thing". Food and beds ++."

  • #66

    Laura & Luke J., ON (Monday, 09 September 2019 21:56)

    September 8, 2019, Guestbook: "Amazing time here! Great hosts, food and accommodations. We had amazing sleeps and absolutely loved the beds. Overall, a nice and relaxing getaway . Thanks!"

  • #65

    Anjali & Rob, Ottawa, ON (Wednesday, 04 September 2019 00:39)

    August 18, 2019, Airbnb Review: “David and Alicia were kind and hospitable hosts from the moment we arrived! Both Alicia and Davids' attention to detail and their ability to anticipate their guests' needs make this an enjoyable place to stay. Their hospitality included unexpected, personal touches of service and care. Their clean, beautiful place is set in a tranquil pastoral location with plenty of space to explore and wander. The breakfast was incredibly delicious! I would highly recommend this place. Thanks again!”

  • #64

    Bob & Kim, Pennsylvania, USA (Monday, 02 September 2019 23:13)

    Awesome B&B! We had a great time here! Felt like we were at home with Dave & Alicia. Food was wonderful, quite place. This place is a diamond in the rough. Glad we found this place to spend some time. IF you want to feel relaxed and welcomed, this is the place! Thanks for everything!

  • #63

    Fred & Neerja B., Chicago, IL (Monday, 02 September 2019 23:05)

    Thank you for letting us hangout at your lovely home! Felt like family, and that was a welcome surprise, and made out visit more pleasant. You will get great reviews and recommendations to family and friends, so if a few people from Chicago show up they might be our friends. It is likely we will be back in the not too distant future. Thanks, you guys rock!

  • #62

    Laura & Christian, Montreal, QC (Monday, 02 September 2019 22:56)

    We love this place! Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome and comfortable. Great service, accommodations and food! We specially appreciate how careful and thoughtful you guys were regarding our food allergies. We look forward to being back and will definitely recommend this place!

  • #61

    Youssef, France (Thursday, 29 August 2019 22:33)

    August 28, 2019, Guestbook: "Simply the very best. Better than all the rest! It was the most wonderful B&B experience. Thank you so much."

  • #60

    Huldah & Thomas, France (Monday, 26 August 2019)

    Waoooh! What a delight to spend a night in your lovely home; we felt cozy and so well. We didn't know what to expect coming over here. What a good surprise, the welcome, the decor, and the FOOD!!! Thank you very much, we will recommend your house [B&B] to our friends. Good luck for the rest of your amazing start...don't change anything please.

  • #59

    Steve & Heather, ON (Monday, 26 August 2019 10:52)

    August 23, 2019, Expedia Review: "Had an amazing stay with Dave and Alicia at the Harlem Stonegate B&B. Very clean, great hospitality and delicious breakfast!! Would highly recommend."

  • #58

    Paula & David, Ottawa, ON (Monday, 26 August 2019 10:40)

    August 21, 2019, Guestbook: "Thanks so much for attending so well to us. A lovely room and wonderful meals! Relaxed and warm atmosphere and no need to go away during the day was much appreciated. Good luck with your future plans."

  • #57

    Adam F, USA (Tuesday, 20 August 2019 13:11)

    Tripadvisor Review: " We had a wonderful stay at Harlem Stonegate B&B. Alicia & David were extremely thoughtful, attentive, and welcoming. We were treated with delicious cookies upon arrival and an awesome breakfast that suited our vegan/vegetarian diets. The property itself is stunning & peaceful with many spots to enjoy a quiet moment with nature. For such a short stay, it was a very memorable one. We would love to be back."

  • #56

    Julia S., Toronto, ON (Tuesday, 20 August 2019 13:10)

    August 18, 2019, Expedia Review: "What a wonderful B&B experience. We booked this place on a whim coming back from the Thousand Island border crossing and how lucky I feel that we did. From the homemade chocolate chip cookies to the beautiful restored farmhouse with comfy beds and absolutely delicious gourmet breakfast, every detail was well planned and perfect. The owners Alicia and David are extremely nice and accommodating. I would highly recommend this place and hope to return soon!"

  • #55

    Karen & Paul, ON (Tuesday, 20 August 2019 13:09)

    Tripadvisor Review: "The day of our stay was rainy and our plan to go to an island cottage had to be cancelled due to thunderstorms. Our hosts were very gracious to let us check in early and also to linger a bit in conversation the following morning. Our experience was very positive and we enjoyed the hospitality extended to us as well as the lovely room and a wonderful breakfast."

  • #54

    Dick & Barb, Sutton, ON (Sunday, 18 August 2019 23:07)

    Being farmers we felt right at home! Beautiful old home & great hosts. Thank you for everything.

  • #53

    Marguerire & Roger, ON (Sunday, 18 August 2019 23:04)

    Thank you Alicia & Dave. Our stay here was outstanding -- wonderful hosts, property and food. Will definitely recommend to our friends & family.

  • #52

    Jeanne, Toronto, ON (Tuesday, 13 August 2019 22:04)

    August 12, 2019, Guestbook: "Thank you so much for a beautiful experience of country living at its finest! A wonderful memory having been with my great family and having this experience together."

  • #51

    Marion & Scott, Kitchener, ON (Tuesday, 13 August 2019 21:58)

    August 11, 2019, Guestbook: "Truly, a wonderful experience from the beginning to the end of our stay of two nights! From the warm welcome to the homemade cookies and details of the design of the bedroom (Stonegate Room) to the food and hospitality of David & Alicia. The food was so flavourful, all made from their garden. *****"

  • #50

    Julie & Dennis, Ottawa, ON (Tuesday, 13 August 2019 21:50)

    August 11, 2019, Guestbook: "What an oasis gem! Your place is very peaceful, the bed so comfortable and your hospitality is wonderful. We enjoyed our chat wit you and getting to know you. Thank you for everything."

  • #49

    Todd & Kim, ON (Tuesday, 13 August 2019 21:43)

    August 9, 2019, Guestbook: "Magnificent hospitality! The ambiance and presentation are marvellous. Alicia & David you are wonderful hosts & made us feel very welcome, we will definitely be recommending you to our friends!! We look forward to a return visit. Thank you."

  • #48

    Annemiek & Norm, Toronto, ON (Tuesday, 06 August 2019 09:58)

    Your hospitality is outstanding! The room [Gardenview] was very comfortable - and the meals - breakfast and dinner and picnic lunch - were excellent. You have a unique setting - so quiet and restful. A great location for our cycling tours! Thanks to both of you.

  • #47

    Warchol Family, France (Tuesday, 06 August 2019 09:52)

    August 6, 2019, booking.com Review: "L'accueil a été ce que l'on attend d'un B&B, nous avons été très bien accueilli, le site est en pleine campagne, au calme et dans la verdure. Nous avons pu profiter des talents de cuisinière de notre hôte, et de leurs produits de proximité. Parenthèse délicate dans notre voyage."